A Father & His Daughter

I was at Chick-fil-a recently, standing near the condiments waiting for my to-go order for my scattered family. A 30-something year old man came and stood to my right. It wasn’t clear if he was waiting or standing in line. 

He started mouthing something and I looked around for whom the words were directed. A young red-headed girl of about seven years old stood in line in front of us. She was holding her near-empty cup awaiting a refill and clearly anxious. 

When the women infront of her left, the girl panicked and turned away toward her father saying something like “oh well”. He took a step forward and assured her it was okay before stepping back.

She got her refill and walked out with her father, his hand on her shoulder. The whole thing was very sweet. I had almost forgotten the terror of talking to cashiers now that I am the one behind the counter. 

For some reason it was saddening as well. May have been attracted to the father and his tenderness? I also found myself a little pissed off at the girl. I want someone to care about and have confidence in me like that. That’s what I would want in a relationship if I ever decide to pursue one.

One thought on “A Father & His Daughter

Leave a Reply

