NOT Pursuing Higher Education

Throughout the last few years I have distanced my self so far from the impression I attempt to uphold with my family that I cannot imagine the effect its disintegration would have on my and my family’s lives. It is for that reason, I feel that I need to get away from my family before I disappoint them. The main origin of disappointment would be my recent decision to stop pursuing higher education.

Growing up it was college-this and college-that: this would be a good college to get into, that will help you get there. College has been presented to me as the key to any kind of success or respect in life. This idea has been engrained so deeply in my mind, I have only very recently begun to question it. Yes, yes, I know you have to do things that are uncomfortable, but I am questioning the purpose of this activity given I don’t want the end result.

I know college provides experience, opportunities, and leadership skills in addition to knowledge. To what end, I ask? So that I might acquire a respectable status? Because, let’s be real, there is a very good chance I will come out the other side of college right where I started plus debt. This is especially likely considering I have zero interest in any field that might boost my income.

Philosophy, psychology, sociology, are interesting and all, but I know too many people with such degrees working at Lowe’s or Harris Teeter. The few who do have decent paying jobs are stuck reporting to a building and dealing with people on a very personal level *shivers*.

The outcome of my new perspective will likely involve me obtaining my associate’s degree and not going any higher, to the probable dismay of my parents. Then I will work several minimum wage jobs. Probably move out and still end up stuck reporting to a building and making small talk with co-workers.

Even obtaining a bachelor’s degree seems to result in a similar situation if you do not find a passion. I do not want to be one of those adult-children that goes to college saying “I’ll figure it out”, and then return home, having drained their parents bank account or burdened with debt themselves, and still having little clue what they want to do. This predicament is all too prevalent today for me not to want to avoid it.

My only glimmers of hope are a) I suddenly find that I really enjoy a particular job or discipline and that I am satisfied working in one place, or b) I obtain a job that ties me down as loosely as possible, since it is inevitable to a degree. Although I have done only a small amount of research, flight attendant seems to fit the bill. This idea seems too glamorous to be possible. I’m certain the reality of the job holds some downsides. More importantly, I’m even more certain I have no idea how to get into the business.

Leave a Reply

